Baby Story: FINAL Part

9 03 2010

My due date was Jan 12th – Jan 20th. On the 3rd of January, I had my scheduled appt and doc said you’re doing fine and that the nerve pinch in my back was going to go as soon as I deliver. I went home, walked and walked. We had bought new curtains for our room so put them up on the 4th Jan, because we knew the baby might be here any day now since I was in my 39th week. Contractions through out the weekend, but this weren’t something new to me as I had them since quite a few months now. I was so tired and in so much pain that I was really waiting for THE day to come ASAP. The night of 5th Jan, I had diarrhea and lost my mucus cord, which means the labor was not very far. Still, I wasn’t sure coz I had slightly painful contractions. Couldn’t’ sleep much and in the morning, I skipped work thinking I should rest now so hubby went ahead alone. The pains started getting a little more painful, still irregularly apart so I figured what the heck lets get it checked. We went to the doc and she said I’m 1 cm dilated so the labor could take anywhere from a day to 3 days depending on how fast I dilate. I was still not hit with the reality that this is IT. I’ll be a mom soon. I though it’s my first baby so it might be quite long. I was scared of THE PAIN and I so wanted a normal delivery without any medications. I prayed that God give me enough strength to endure it all, keep my baby safe and make it all work out fine. The ER people said since you had diarrhea the last night and can’t tolerate any food, we’ll give you a drip. So I got the drip and we went home with instructions to eat something as labor was imminent and I had to have energy to go through with it. Since my place is quite far from the hospital, I went at Hubby’s best friends’ place which is a 5 minute drive away. The pains were steadily getting strong and ending in my back and I had to grit my way through it. Spent the whole day walking in their house because that was the only way I could bear that pain. At approximately 11:30 pm, I told hubby we need to leave now because there was no way to find out how far I was. We reached the hospital and upon checking, they said I was 3 cm dilated and will be admitted. I got in the labor room, and they pinned me with some machine that voiced my baby’s heartbeat. I had terrible pains and I prayed through them. The whole night the pains kept on increasing. At approx 6 am on the 6th of January, 2009, they bought me some breakfast which I could hardly touch as I was in so much pain and could barely talk through them. Hubby came in the morning but couldn’t stay for long as his sugar dropped and he left. I know it sounds weird but my hubby cannot bear hospitals and its injection smells, let alone see his wife in pain. At approx 7 a.m. they burst my water bag and Oh the pains and pressure multiplied after that. At that time I was 7 cm dilated and they were very happy with the fast progress. I bared through just a few more minutes, approx 30 minutes and they checked again and it was a full 10 cm. I was ready to go! I asked them where my doc is and hey said she is on her way but I could wait no more. I prayed and prayed for God to give me strength, I even prayed out loud. I was just glad I made it this far without crying or shouting and without an epidural. In a few minutes I felt the pressure was beyond my control and I told them not to wait for the doctor. They said don’t worry; the doc is at the reception. In a minute, my doctor’s face came in view and I broke into a smile of relief. The next few minutes are a daze for me now as I don’t recall much, just this that somewhere after 8 a.m. they pulled my baby out and put him on my tummy. He was all blue and tiny and I couldn’t really register anything. I remember being stitched but I was looking at the baby being weighed and all in the corner. As son as the doctor was done, my hubby came in to hug me. Oh it was such a precious moment. It’s etched in my memory. Then came in my MIL and she had tears in her eyes. She too hugged me and gave me the phone and it was my daddy congratulating me. After that the reality of not sleeping for the last 2 nights hit me hard. I think I kept dozing in and out as people came in to see me and the baby. There it is… My baby story. My E’s Story

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 03 2010
Munchkin's Mom

Aww…it sure is a precious moment..god bless 🙂

24 03 2010
whinymom

thanks! 🙂

24 06 2010
avymom

What a nice recolelction..best moments in life!

25 06 2010
whinymom

True! 🙂

Leave a Reply

