what mommyhood taught me

14 06 2011

Finally taking up this tag by
ObsessiveMom

5 things that Motherhood has taught me:
1. Patience: Yes, I’m trying my best to get better at it. Be it trying to control my hand when E hits me or trying to resist scolding and shouting at him when he’s taking a long time finishing his food.
2. Ignorance: I’ve learnt that when people comment on what you should and should not do to/with your kids, its best to ignore than to get on in useless arguments.
3. Routine: I’ve learnt that I being one to never remain on a routine and go on endless late nighters by talking and watching TV now get scared of NOT being in a routine. Even on vacation I try to make E stick to his routine to make our lives better. Late nights can take a hike till the kids start sleeping on their own!
4. Multitask: I’ve learnt that it’s not too difficult to soothe a crying baby on one hand and finish cooking and ironing with the other hand. It’s also too difficult to remember to do 100 things for your kids when you usually have a bad memory when it comes to self or spouse.
5. Respect for parents: I never had a great relationship with my mom. Dad, I love to bits. Its after having E that I developed renewed respect for my folks. I salute Y’all
6. One additional factor: I’ve gotten more emotional since becoming a parent and I can easily shed a tear or two when I hear of something happening to kids and/ or parents

I see almost everyone in my list is tagged so all you readers consider yourself tagged and please take it up!

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 06 2011
Tharani

A very honest post.. especially the 5th point.
Kudos to you 🙂

30 06 2011
Anjali

I agree fully with your list, we say parents teach a lot to their children, but we never realize how much children and having children teaches us …very good post .

Leave a Reply

